Award Citation: The Charles H. Levine Memorial Book Prize, 2021



Each year, the International Political Science Association’s Research Committee on the
Structure of Governance sponsors the Levine Prize. It is named in honour of Charles H.
Levine, who was a distinguished member of the Research Committee and served on the
editorial board of its official journal, Governance. The prize is awarded on the
recommendation of a distinguished committee for the best book on comparative
administration or public policy published in the previous year. This year’s committee
was composed of Professors Jale Tosun (University of Heidelberg, Germany), Caner
Bakir (Koç University, Turkey) and Robert Cox (University of South Carolina, United
The Award Committee has selected Advising Governments in the Westminster Tradition:
Policy Advisory Systems in Australia, Britain, Canada and New Zealand, by Jonathan
Craft and John Halligan, as the 2021 recipient of the Levine Award. This impressive
book advances our knowledge on varieties of policy advisory systems in Westminister
type governments.
Degree of recognitionInternational